Jason Rogers Interview

By Jason Shetler

p/c: David Hague - Pirates Prospects

p/c: David Hague – Pirates Prospects

I recently interviewed first baseman/third baseman Jason Rogers, who was acquired by the Pirates last offseason from the Milwaukee Brewers. Here are some of the things that Jason and I discussed, so I hope you guys enjoy it.

JS: Who were some of your favorite players growing up?

JR: Greg Maddux because I pitched when I was younger and Alex Rodriguez because he was a good all around player.

 

JS: What was your emotion like upon being drafted by the Milwaukee Brewers in 2010? 

JR: Relieved and grateful. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be drafted or not. I heard some talk of it here and there but I wasn’t positive. So when I got the call on the third day I was excited to get the opportunity.

 

JS: How did you find out that you were being called up to the Brewers in 2014?

JR: I sat out the last game of the season so guys were telling me hey you’re getting called up but I didn’t believe them. After the game the manager called me in his office and gave me the great news.

 

JS: Did you get the opportunity to meet Bob Uecker?

JR: Oh yes, I saw him almost everyday. He’s a funny guy to be around.

 

JS: What was your reaction to the news that you were traded to the Pirates last offseason?

JR: I was surprised because I felt like I had a chance to start with the Brewers especially after the season I had with them.

 

JS: Who is the toughest pitcher you’ve faced in the big leagues and why?

JR: Chris Sale. He’s a deceptive lefty that throws side arm. He was tough to pick up.

 

JS: Last question, what are some of your goals for the 2017 season? 

JR: Be better than 2016 *laughs*. But continue to stay healthy, get back to being the consistent hitter I know I can be. Be athletic and have fun again!

 

Be sure to follow Jason on Twitter @jasonrogers2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

